Introduction CWI/SCWI 9 Year Recertification Courses

TRAIN-ENG's goal is to give you a variety of different options for courses to choose from. Our guidance, to keep you in compliance, comes from AWS 5.1:2013-AMD1 and its section on "Functions" as required by AWS QC1:2016-AMD1. We'll take as much latitude as we can to give you a range of courses to choose from. Sure, we'd like to offer courses on building surfboards, wines of the U.S., cryptocurrency or other but..... unfortunately, outside of what AWS will accept for PDHs.

We offer courses of different lengths so you can pick a combination of courses that give you the professional development hours (PDHs) that you need to meet any outstanding requirements that you haven't already fulfilled. It's your choice, take any combination of courses that are of interest to you.

We've broken the courses down into categories as seen in the menu below:

Code Books are NOT included in our price.

Course access: one (1) year to complete.

Meeting Your CWI/SCWI 9-Year Recertification Training Requirements

Video Overview of AWS 9 Year Recertification

Watch the video for a quick overview of what you're required to for your 9 year recertification.

The American Welding Society (AWS) is the governing body for the different levels of Certified Welding Inspectors (CWI/SCWI). Both CWIs and senior CWIs (SCWI) are required to recertify every nine (9) years.

In general, this can be accomplished by:

  1. re-examination.(different rules for CWI vs. SCWI)
  2. taking a Commitee approved endorsement.
  3. by work experience and completion of continuing education.

Under item 3 above, one must complete 80 professional development hours (PDHs). Twenty (20) of these 80 hours must be completed within the last three (3) years of certification.

TRAIN-ENG's focus is on helping you complete the 80 hour requirement through online courses. Note: AWS provides various options for what constitutes a PDH. Our focus is online training, whch we hope is the most timely and most economic solution. PLEASE refer to the following document for exactly what is required in the application process for recertification:

"The Specification for AWS Certification of Welding Inspectors", AWS QC1:2016-AMD1

DISCLAIMER: The above descriptions are intended only as as overview. More specific details can be obtained through the American Welding Society (AWS).